Digital Experiments

Stickers
To make my stickers I used paper and hand drew them so that the techniques I used on my poster varied. Using paper as the base of my stickers rather than making them purely on Photoshop gave them a textured background rather than having a smooth one. Some of my stickers however, I have edited further in Photoshop to give them colour and to give some of them the effect that the sticker is slightly peeling off. This gives the impression that my festival doesn’t have ‘neat and tidy’ connotations but instead is crafty and alternative. The colours I used for the stickers were in attempt to stick to my colour scheme of my logo, so I have mainly used pinks and greens. The black outline however, not part of my colour scheme, is simply used to give the stickers a bold effect and make them visible as they are very important on the poster. The Ed Sheeran sticker also, has an orange paw print. This is because I have based it on Ed Sheeran’s original logo so it is recognisable as he is a very popular musician, and also a headline act at my concert.

The combination of words and images in my design are shown through the typography being part of the sticker. This shows the image and word are one, and the curved effect of some of the sticker corners stop the words looking like they’ve simply been placed on top of the image.
The size and scale of the stickers is all dependant on the importance of them. For example, the Ed Sheeran sticker is larger than the Mumford and Sons sticker as he is a headline act and Mumford and sons aren’t. Another Sticker on the poster is my ‘secret summer’ logo. This is not an enormous sticker and is fairly small as although important, the title of my festival is shown through my wire design. Therefore, I felt making my sticker too big would be fairly pointless as this information is already listed, and is the main focal point of the picture. However as it is my logo, I have still included it on the poster as I want it to be recognised as it is also on my merchandise and festival ticket.

I feel my stickers are a very successful part of my poster as they are bold and easy to read. Typically guitarists are known to place stickers onto their guitars advertising the musicians and bands they like. I therefore felt that stickers would be an effective and relevant way of advertising the festival line up. They are also successful as look quite realistic and the shadowing effect helps create the illusion that they are real stickers. Another thing I feel went particularly well with the stickers is the curled edges. This makes the poster interesting and stops the image being flat but rather is now more life-like.

The things I felt didn’t go so well with the stickers were the colours. I feel in some places the colours don’t seem relevant to the design/festival type, and could perhaps be improved. These can easily be changed in further development of the final poster and perhaps can be made to be more relevant. When doing this, I would have to think about the tone and opacity of the colour also, as making the colours too bold may look as if I am advertising a different type of festival rather than arts and music. Another con of the design would be that they don’t link to my designer research as much as the rest of my designs. Although links can be made, they are very subtle and don’t show much influence from the main designer. However, this could also be a pro of the design, as it makes the design seem original and innovative.

The typography on the stickers isn’t measured to accuracy and the sizing of the letters appears to vary. Through this I was hoping to make the festival seem less formal, and more relaxed. This is a way of representing the festival vibe through what is on the poster.

The message I was hoping to convey through the stickers were a simple representation of which acts would be performing at the festival. For this purpose, I feel that the stickers are appropriate.

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 20.58.28

Guitar string web address
My first experiment is the combination of words and images through the last guitar string. In the image shown, you can see that the string of the guitar has been made into the festival’s website address. The purpose of this was to show a creative way of including the text within the image on the poster.

I have stuck with the colour of the guitar string; white, and made it slightly brighter so it is clear and visible against the background colour. This white colour also works well with my poster as is light and works well with my logo colour scheme. To do this, I used a Wacom tablet as it allowed me to draw on top of the guitar string and erase the relevant parts to fit the web address in. Furthermore, the address curves around the sound hole which gives it an arched effect which works well on the poster as is an interesting combination of words and images.

My aim was to bring the guitar strings forward from the picture, making them stand out. This can be achieved by giving the strings a drop shadow and making the strings more prominent by brightening the colour.
The web address however I have not included as a large part on the poster as it is not of great importance. I wanted it to be clear, and visible so it had a purpose, but the scale I kept fairly small in an attempt to not to make it so prominent that it takes the focal point away from the main part of the poster.

I feel it is a very successful combination of words and images as the image is the word. It creates unity between the image and the text and draws interest in something that perhaps people would not usually pay much attention to. I feel it is also successful as it is very simple but effective. The colour is basic, like the design which does not over complicate it. The lesser success of it may be that it might draw people’s attention away from the main text within the poster; this is something I’ve tried to prevent through keeping it small. Another negative point would be that because I have drawn over the top of the original string with a Wacom tablet, it perhaps makes the string less lifelike. To improve this experiment, I would add more shadowing behind the string which would make it jump out from the page. I would also make the lines straighter and neater, to make the poster look more professional.

I feel that this idea does clearly link to my research as shares characteristics with the shoe lace poster. Like that poster, it turns the image into the word and makes the word stand out above the background.
I feel this idea does fit the brief as it clearly combines words and images in a creative way.

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 21.45.07Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 21.44.59

Vine words
My next idea was turning vines on my guitar into words. The words spell out the festival details which I feel are a fairly important part in advertising the festival.
The intention with this digital experiment was to combine the words and images in a clear and effective way whilst still conveying the message they deliver. I used vines to do this under the intention that they would present the natural, calm side of my festival. This idea was taken from one of my thumbnail sketches, where the vines wrapped around the guitar and formed the festival line up.

I feel this digital experiment was fairly successful as combines words and images, and is still relevant to my theme. The colours are appropriate and work well to give an effective look. The combination of the word and image works well because it doesn’t look forced, but instead flows well and also works well on-top of the guitar. Another thing which I feel works well is the fact that the vines are hand-drawn. This adds to the idea that the festival has an arts side to it, which can be seen through the doodle-type style the vines take. They do not look realistic and therefore add a creative element to the festival. The less successful parts of my design are the fact that it may be unclear to read from a far distance, this is because the vines are quite stylised and take a loopy appearance. To improve this, I could make the edges of the vines more defined and perhaps add a shadow behind them to create a division between them and the guitar. This would make them stand out more.

This design not only links to one of my thumbnail sketches, but also links to my designer research. My research of the ‘Doune the rabbit hole’ festival showed that using hand drawn imagery/typography was very effective. Therefore I used this idea within my own work, basing my design on this poster by hand drawing my vines. Rather than using a typical font, I hand drew the letters to give the impression that this festival is different and exciting.
I feel that this idea does clearly meet the brief as it is creative and links to my research.

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 23.42.57.png

Summer Secrets
My intention for this idea was to use a new kind of material to combine words and images with. I feel that the more materials I used in my final poster the more appropriate it would be for an arts and music festival.

To make the word summer secrets, I used a shoe lace to spell out each word at a time. Starting with ‘Summer’ I blue tacked the string to a surface so it would stay in place, and then photographed it. This is the same process I used for the word ‘Secrets’, using the same shoe lace. Once both were photographed, I placed the images into Photoshop and removed both the blue tack and background, leaving only the words. The next step was to join the words together combining them into one, and inserting the image into my final poster design. The reason I used a lace to make these words was due to many failed attempts of using wire. Making these words out of wire appeared to be a difficult task, and the end result I felt was not appropriate for my final poster. By using the lace however, I could curl and curve the letters freely without having sharp or angular edges, which looked more appropriate for an arts and music festival. I feel if I had used the wire, it would have conveyed a theme more suitable for a rock poster.

The colour I used for this word and image combination was simply black, due to wanting my festival title to stand out as it is the main part on the poster. Although not part of my original colour scheme, using black allowed me to make a bold statement and for my words to be read clearly. I wanted these words to be the main focal point of my image, so this is another reason for using this colour. The reason for wanting it to be the main focal point was because being the title of my festival, would be the name people recognise.

This is also the reason that this word and image combination is to a large scale. My intention was to make it visible from a distance, again to be recognisable. However, if put to an even larger scale, I feel that it would dominate my poster too much drawing your attention away from the other details on it.

To make the idea more innovative and exciting, I could focus on using a more interesting material than the lace that I used. Another thing I could do would be making the lace a different colour, and preferably one that would be more relevant to my theme.

I am confident that this idea does meet the brief as it is creative, and combines words and images in an interesting way. It also uses interesting materials to do this, and appeals to my theme as the curved edges of the letters fit well.

The shoe lace does have a slight texture to it, but is not visible within this image but instead appears smooth.  I feel if I were to add any more texture to this design it will over complicate it and make it harder to read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

