line &texture drawings

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 10.18.45.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-20 at 10.18.52.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-20 at 10.41.44.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-20 at 10.44.12.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-20 at 11.10.47.png

This is a drawing I produced on Photoshop with a wacom tablet, to explore making a half human, half animal character. I found this piece particularly fun to make, as it allowed me to explore the human form and add different aspects of animals into my image.

I added horns to this picture, as I felt due to the girls head being tilted downwards, they would be effective as would be quite prominent within the image. I found these horns on Google, and simply used them to be the base of my drawing. To continue, I added fur alongside the hands in my image to show the idea that underneath her coat, she has fur on top of her skin. This fur stops at the base of her hands, to show that she still has a lot a lot of human features. I also found this fur from Google, as again I wasn’t claiming it as my own photo but only using it to draw from. The fur was originally on a shire horse’s hoof; an animal I felt had suitable fur to work effectively in my design.

This character also has whiskers, which were taken from an image I had taken of my cat. Adding whiskers added an animal feature to the girls face, making the character slightly more interesting, and so the animal features were spread out all over her body.

Also featuring fangs, this image has a slightly aggressive side to it. Contrasting with the light and friendly connotations of fur, the fangs which appear either side of my characters mouth show that perhaps it is not as friendly as it seems. The reason I added these fangs was to show that it was not only the outward appearance of my character that is half animal. The inclusion of these sharp teeth suggests that the inside of my characters mouth has animal aspects to it also.

Once I had completed my line drawing, I added textures to my design. My intention was to I make this character mythical, and ‘dream like’ which is why I added a galaxy texture to the characters coat. I feel that this texture makes my design more interesting, and represents my dream-like theme well due to the colour combinations of blues and purples. These colours connote creativity, luxury and power which is another reason this texture works well, as it gives my design a sense of character.

When creating this character I did encounter a few failures, and things that had to be overcome. For example, whilst drawing my characters mouth, I found it difficult to show both the upper and lower lip without making them look incredibly unrealistic. Although it was a fantasy character, I didn’t want to stray too far from my original image as I wanted it to be clear that I was drawing a half human, half animal and not just a weird looking ‘creature’.

I feel that using a wacom tablet was a very successful process to create this character. This is because it allowed me to draw on top of my own photos, and create layers to add and manipulate different textures into and on top of my line drawing. Another reason I feel that this process worked well was due to the aspect of having a rubber on Photoshop that could erase not only the line drawing, but the texture too. If produced without a wacom tablet, or even Photoshop, I feel it would have been difficult to show textures within the image.

 At the moment this image appears very flat, which can be improved by adding more colour and textures to it. Another way to improve this image would be to perhaps have a colour scheme, or make sure that the colours all work well together.

I feel the main strengths with this image is the galaxy coat, which makes it stand out and hopefully completely different from everyone else’s designs.  Also I feel that the proportion of the character and the overall line drawing went well as all the combined parts of the animal and human have worked well.

I also did a second line and texture drawing which is seen below. This drawing was to develop my skills further and to experiment more with combining line and texture.Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 15.33.53.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-25 at 15.54.06.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-25 at 16.06.10.pngScreen Shot 2016-01-25 at 16.23.20.png

Leave a Reply

