S.C.A.M.P.E.R.

These three ideas were made through scamper, which was a technique I used in order to develop my ideas further.

To start off exploring SCAMPER I decided to do some research into what scamper is an how it is used in the world today. I firstly went onto a website called mindtools.com which had some information as to what SCAMPER IS. For example, I learnt that SCAMPER is something which helps generate ideas that you may not have thought of before hand. Each letter of the word stands for a different thing, which are as follows:

  • Substitute
  • Combine
  • Adapt
  • Modify/Magnify
  • Put to another use
  • Eliminate
  • Reverse

Bob Eberle was the original inventor of the questions for SCAMPER, and he pieced together these questions as a form of ideas generation.

ORIGINAL 

This is my original design, advertising safety, under propaganda. This design is based on my original thumbnail showing a deer and a car, and was the idea that Kate told me to develop further.

Screen Shot 2016-10-03 at 16.00.47.png

S- SUBSTITUTE

I feel that substitute could work well for my advert, as this is something which I could use if I were to do three different versions of the main advert, as each time i could substitute in a different animal in front of the car. It does not enhance the propaganda side of the advert however, and this is something Kate said I should work on. However, this idea has inspired me and has made me think about exploring tree part adverts, to see whether they are as successful as just one advert. I feel exploring this idea has opened my mind up to more possibilities and ways I could show my advert. The car I have drawn on this design is also a bad example of illustration, as it doesn’t look much like a car. However, it was simply there to show my idea, and if I were to carry this idea forward then I would probably use a photograph of a car in replacement.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 15.33.23.png

S- SUBSTITUTE

Here I have taken out the original text and instead replaced it with a substitute text, in an attempt to work out which typeface would work best on my poster.This something that Kate told me to do, experiment with different typefaces that link into propaganda. I feel this needs further development for me to choose the appropriate typeface, and the one which has the strongest link to propaganda. Additionally, I have taken out the red colour that was in the text as this was again part of Kate’s advice, as she felt that red could be quite intimidating, and has strong connotations to blood more than safety. This is something I didn’t want my design to be linked into.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 15.12.25.pngM- MAGNIFY

I Feel that magnify does not work too well with my idea. Magnifying the image removes the majority of the car, which is an important part in the design as it helps to convey the message. Additionally, I feel zooming into my image removes the majority of the negative space and makes my design appear too busy. It also leaves little room for texts an I feel it then becomes over complicated. However, using magnify does give a clear view that the poster is from the deer’s perspective as we get a clearer view of its facial expression, showing its reaction to the car being dangerously close behind it.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 15.12.33.png

Leave a Reply

