DEVELOPMENT OF FINAL IDEA

PHOTOSHOP

The main software I am using to make my car advert is Photoshop.

Beginning My Design

To start off my design I took a photo of the car I was going to use for my final piece. It is specifically a Volvo to link in with my project and ideas. I imported the photo into Photoshop and using the Rubber tool I cut around the edge of the body of the car, as I only wanted the car in my picture. I could have used the lasso tool to do this, but I feel that using the rubber allowed me to get smoother edges around my car image. Cutting out the car with the rubber tool was quite a time consuming and tricky process, as every time I made wrong move I had to use the undo button to take me a step backwards so I could correct my mistake by re-doing it. However, although it took a while, I feel that this was quite an effective way of getting the best possible outcome. I then selected the car and went into adjustments, to change the colour of the car slightly. This was done using the filter tool. Once I had experimented with this I found that as I changed the colour of the car, it began to become less realistic, therefore I decided against changing the cars colours drastically.Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.49.18.pngScreen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.49.07.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 09.56.08.png

Deer Illustration

After this, I then decided to make a start on the deer illustration, by finding an image of a deer to copy from google. I began my illustration by changing the opacity of the image I found to a lower percentage, so I could see where I was going to draw over the top of it. I also made a colour palette, so I could get my colours of the deer as accurate as possible to achieve the closest representation of what an actual deer looks like as I could. The process of drawing this deer I find incredibly hard as I feel I want it to loo realistic, and therefore makes the process even more time consuming than cutting out the car was. I started off just using a normal, single straight lined brush from the brush selection on Photoshop, but then decided to experiment with different brush strokes, to see if I could find one that would take me less time to draw with, or perhaps one that mimics the fur of an animal.

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 13.47.53.pngScreen Shot 2016-10-13 at 13.47.42.png

Here I started to draw the deer’s features. The image to the left is the eye of the deer and the other image towards the right is the start of the deer’s nose. I found that this was going to be a very time consuming process if I were to try and make the deer quite realistic.

To the right of my deer drawing, I placed a mark of each colour taken from the deer photograph. This allows me to work from a colour palette, so the colours were as close to the real thing as I could get them.Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 14.28.20.png
Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 14.59.00.png

Influence from Scamper

Using Scamper to experiment with different ways I could have my design was a very successful way of experimenting with my idea. In my Scamper ideas I looked at ‘substitute’ and experimented with substituting the deer out of my design and replacing it with a rabbit. On top of this, I used this idea when presenting my work to car enthusiasts to see their take on how they feel substituting the the deer out for another animal has worked. Based on my feedback, I found out they felt the deer was the strongest concept as it is a big, and powerful creature in comparison to a small rabbit. This made me have second thoughts on whether substitute could work for my design, as my view clashed with the car enthusiasts views. Following along with my Volvo themed advert, I felt the use of animals in my design would be quite effective. This is due to previous adverts that have been made by Volvo, symbolizing the Eco-friendliness of the cars. For example, these three adverts below.

Each of these adverts show a clear link through the idea that each animal is in the same position, on the same car. They additionally have four main differences, the type of animal, colour and model of car, and angle the car is at. This gave me the inspiration to make three car adverts, changing the type of animal used in each one, which is where my rabbit idea could be used, along with the deer. As the car enthusiasts preferred the deer idea, this will be the first poster in my three part advert.

Photographs

This is the image I am using for the background of my advert. It is a photograph of a road I took in Sawston. The picture on the left is the original, and the picture on the right is the edited version of the photo. As I found that many modern car adverts include a lot of use of the colour black, I decided to change the colour of the road to suit this. To change the colour of the road, I used the lasso tool to outline the road, and then went into ‘image adjustments’, and then to ‘photo filter’ and filtered the main colour of the road to black. I made sure it only darkened the road slightly, as I felt changing the road to a complete black made it look very unrealistic, and clearly edited.

I felt a road with a specific tree tunnel would be effective for my advert, as I could show my car coming out of a darkness, showing it to be superior and bright in comparison to the darker background.

So far I feel my design is going well, however I am not pleased with the appearance of the car behind the deer. My photograph of a V90 appears very low to the ground, and shows the car to be very low, giving the wrong perspective. This makes the deer loom in front of the car and block out a lot of it, which makes the use of the car less effective. The car also looks to big on the road, and makes the composition of the whole image look wrong. To change this I am planning on taking a picture of another Volvo which is higher rather than longer, so it can be seen better behind the deer.

Following the same steps I did for the first car, I took a photograph of a higher car, an XC60, and cut it out in Photoshop.Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 11.41.22.png

I changed the background further as I wanted to create more of a symmetrical tunnel effect of the trees. To do this, I used the lasso tool and cut out one side of the picture, and copied and pasted it onto the other side. I then had to use the rubber tool to remove parts of the images that overlapped, and replaced them with hand drawn tree branches to fill in the gaps. To get the right colours I used the eyedropper tool. Additionally, I blackened the appearance of the background the car was coming from to give the advert more of a modern appearance. This made the car seem less visible, so I felt like the Toyota Auris advert I looked at, the car would be quite effective if it had lights which shone forward. These I was aiming to illuminate the deer further, and show how the car has sensed its presence in front of it.

Light and Dark

To add lights to the car I went into Filter-Render-Lighting Effects, and chose the crossing over lights which I placed where the cars headlamps would be. I also edited the distance they shone so they just touched the deer, and the brighter part of the beam stayed in close distance to where a cars lights would shine.

Two other Animals

The two other animals I am planning to use in my three part advert are a fox and a badger, as these are common animals that are known to get hit by cars. I feel that they are both more successful than using a rabbit, as they are bigger, and I didn’t want to show the idea that the car stops for such small animals that this in fact could be a danger to driving.

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 16.14.27.pngScreen Shot 2016-10-28 at 16.58.30.png

Typography:

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 14.30.41.png

The font choice was inspired by the hunger games propaganda posters in which I looked at as part of my research. I feel it shows how Propaganda can be modernised.

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 14.30.49.png

I used the logo, with the quote ‘VOLVO INTELLISAFE MADE FOR YOUR SAFETY’

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 14.30.56.png

This quote I placed at the bottom of the poster and adapted it to make it a more understandable language to me. It links into my research into Volvo statistics.

Final Designs

screen-shot-2016-10-31-at-12-04-48screen-shot-2016-10-31-at-12-05-27screen-shot-2016-10-31-at-12-05-00screen-shot-2016-10-31-at-12-04-21

 

Leave a Reply

